top of page


Commissioned By

Mason Romero


First Performance

February 2024


Solo saxophone (or any woodwind)


2.5 minutes

Program Notes

This piece is based on three 5-note sets. The first (C E F Gb B) is introduced over the first 10 bars. The second set (F# A# B C D#) starts in m. 27, then the two are combined in m. 31. These two were chosen because of overlapping notes and similar intervallic material. The third starts in m. 35 and is an F# major pentatonic scale. All three sets are used alone, blended, and transposed throughout the piece.

This piece was written for solo saxophone but is available in two keys and can be played on any woodwind. The score preview and store include both versions in the download






     Score $10

bottom of page